Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Which Video Editing software to use?

1. Default Which Video Editing software to use?

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to the world of video editing, having dabbled a bit in the past with making a few videos for YouTube to record bike rides. I'm looking to take it up as a hobby and learn how to make better more creative videos. I have a few cameras and love buying new and second hand cameras to play around with, always on the look out for new ones to try! The problem I have is with the video editing side of things.. I'm a Linux user, so there's not as much choice for professional software as there is for Windows..the software I've tried in Linux isn't very good it has to be said. It doesn't work too reliably (OpenShot being the main one) and either crashes often, or produces not very good quality output.

I'm prepared to use Windows XP or Vista and have a Toshiba Portege R500 laptop which has a firewire port and SD card slot, so that might be ideal for video editing..but I could also use my desktop on dual boot which has 4GB ram and dual-core, so I think I got the hardware side of things covered?

I'm just wondering if anyone can recommend any editing software? I'd prefer something easy to use to start out with, so not too complicated. My main requirements are really the ability to produce decent looking text titles, scrolling credits, and scene transitions (fade in/out and scene blend etc). I have Windows Movie Maker which I've used a bit with mixed results, and I also discovered an old disc called Ulead Media Studo Video 2.5 Edition which I've installed today, but not yet tried out. It looks pretty decent but only supports mpg format video. I'm sure there's much newer version of that software, and wondered if anyone rates it?

As to my cameras.. I have:

Panasonic NV-RX1B (VHS-C, really old tech)
    Samsung VP-D453 (CCD) MiniDV camera (has SD card slot and firewire, external mic port)
    Toshiba Camileo S10 (HD)