Thread: Who the hell do you think you are?

Blog Entries

Default Who the hell do you think you are?

Me? I'm a Pensions Implementation Analyst! We've had the "what do you do for a living thread" before. So lets have a "what jobs you did to put yourself through uni/poly etc, in the vain hope you would be doing something better afterwards".

From the age of 16 to leaving Uni, I worked day/nights stacking shelves in Safeways (sometimes in 15 hour shifts), was filing clerk for a property development firm in the city (just off green park), and worked days/nights as a "reprographics operator" (that's a photocopier dude).

Was it worth it? Hell no! But at least I stepped out of uni with no debts

I have worked in:
    Somerfield stacking shelves + freezers, that sucked.

a petrol station, that was interesting and funny

one night in the Ginsters factory, dull

two seperate 3 month stints working nights in a test tube factory, hot, noisy, repetitive, 3 days on 3 days off, ruins your sleeping patterns but pays a bit more than usual and all mental effort can be directed towards something useful.

A computerised royal Mail sorting office, nights again, best job ever, zero effort, comfy seats, breaks every 50 minutes because of the monitors, not enough work to go around so half the time you just sit there and chat in the open plan office.

spent all the money on cameras, beer and flights.

And now I'm leaving uni' in a week with massive debt :cry:

But I think it was worth it.
    Panasonic SD9, Panasonic NVGS-75, Canon MV600i

I've not had many different jobs, but as is the norm, I had a supermarket job (cashier at Sainsburys).

I worked at my college during the holidays doing IT related things, such as preparing for seminars, teaching businesspeople in this new technology called the "internet"

I then worked as a temp Computer Engineer at the University of Manchester. Now I'm senior computer engineer there. Rock.

Blog Entries