Thread: Will Vegas Movie studio Platinum 11 run well on this? - thanks

Question Will Vegas Movie studio Platinum 11 run well on this? - thanks

I am about to buy a new computer with win 7 64 bit -and planning to move over to Vegas Movie Studio 11 from Premiere CS3. (CS3 seemed over kill for me and moving over to a win 7 64 bit would mean an expensive upgrade with Adobe.)

Would the spec below - run Vegas Movie Studio platinum well? I am an occasional video editor - usually up to 15 mins only, sound and titles mainly.

I have deliberately gone for i5 3550 processor as opposed to i7 3770, as for occassional video use and as a non gamer, the hyper threading facility didn't seem worth the extra cost, but if people think it is essential I will reconsider.

I have picked the Geforce GT 630 graphics card as it is recent mid range OEM release with 384 CUDA cores/875MHz.

Processor (CPU) - Intel® Core™i5 Quad Core Processor i5-3550 (3.3GHz) 6MB Cache
    Motherboard - ASUS® P8H77-M: M-ATX, DDR3, USB 3.0, SATA 6.0Gb/s, CrossFireX™
    Memory (RAM) - 16GB SAMSUNG DUAL-DDR3 1333MHz (4 X 4GB)
    Graphics Card - 1GB NVIDIA GEFORCE GT 630 - DVI,HDMI,VGA - 3D Vision Ready
    Memory - 1st Hard Disk - 250GB 3.5" SATA-III 6GB/s HDD 7200RPM 16MB CACHE
    2nd Hard Disk - 1TB 3.5" SATA-III 6GB/s HDD 7200RPM 32MB CACHE
    Firewire - 3 Port IEEE 1394a Firewire PCI Card (£9)
    Operating System - Genuine Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit w/SP1 - inc DVD & Licence

Thanks in advance for advice.

If this is only for occasional use then it will get you by. The i7 would obviously be better. Especially on rendering times. All editing software will start to struggle if you have a lot of effects or colour correction on anything but the best set up. In Vegas you can reduce the preview quality to overcome this.

Thanks Midnight blue
    For my use this has reassured me. I have over spec'd in previous years. So didn't want to go overboard this time. Thanks again.

São Paulo - Brazil

Hi HappyDay,