Thread: Newbie with questions

Default Newbie with questions

Hi all, I'm based in Kent and over the past couple of years, have moved across from just taking pics to video. I bought a Sony Nex 5 when it came out and have a couple of POV cams - Contour HD's for use on the bike itself. Over the past six months I've made the transition from iMovie over to FCP X and whilst nowhere near being an expert, I'm, getting the hang of it.

I'm now looking to 'move up' with a better DSLR or maybe a dedicated Video Cam - herein lies my dilemma - I've read so many reviews and watched so many videos, my head is exploding with it all....

I'm veering towards a Canon 5D III however I still have some doubts on this. I was looking to get a rig of some description and a new Manfrotto tripod.

My question is should I be looking at the Nikon D800 or should I be looking at a Video Cam - I did look seriously at the JVC HM150 as it records straight to dot mov files and gets reasonable reviews.

My budget is 2,500 to 3,000 to begin with and I hope to add more lenses / equipment into next year.

Here's an example of the type of stuff that I'm doing - at just past three mins is where Nex 5 footage is, the bike footage is Contour hD

I think the best DSLR camera out there at the moment is the Canon 5D MkIII BUT that doesn't mean it's the right camera for you for Video. If I was you I would go for the Panasonic GH2 with a couple of nice lens. 70-200mm zoom and a fixed 50mm. It's a quarter of the price of the 5D and gives a really nice result when used properly.

I have had the use of a GH2 for six months now and don't really like it that much. I prefer the Sony tbh, despite the reviews of the GH2. I have about a month to decide, so will look at all options.

Well that's fair enough if you don't like the GH2. Have a look at the reviews on Philip Blooms website. He's probably the best person to consult if you want a DSLR for video use.