Thread: Lossless conversion 4:3 to 16:9?

Default Lossless conversion 4:3 to 16:9?

Hi - I admit I am a newbie and have joined initially to ask this question but gere goes:-

I have a Canon Camcorder (Std def) that has a pseudo 16:9 mode, meaning that if you play back the video on your TV direct from the camcorder you correctly see 16:9.
    But if you use a firewire cable and record the footage to a PC as an AVI file, every video player sees it as 4:3 an the image is obviouly squashed.

So I need to
    1/ Convert the AVI file to 16:9 in a lossless way so I have a new master copy
    2/ And so I can burn a DVD that shows the correct aspect ratio.

The one thing I do know is that there are all sorts of standards and formats in this game, may of which do not involve lossless conversions, also that much of teh software is hugely complex.

What I am really after is a piece of freeware that opens the file, does the aspect ratio conversion and resaves - without lossy recompression

I have done the conversion successfully using AVIRecomp - but I'm unsure if this has been a lossless operation?

Many thanks!

I'm not a CODEC expert. (but that hasn't stopped me in the past from giving an opinion). I don't thing you have a 4:3 that needs converting to a 16:9, you probably have stretched pixels as opposed to square one which gives a 16:9 looking image on a TV because thats the way most TVs work. There is something in the codec that is not telling the computer media players that the video was mad with anamorphic pixels.

This is like my camera that shoots 1440 x 1080 in stead of 1920 x 1080.

I am surprised that the computer software doesn't recognise this in your footage. Is there a setting in your media player that will handle this before you go down the route of looking for something that doesn't really exist. ie if you have to alter a video in any way it will loose something. therefore can not be lossless but just loose less.