Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Please check my PC spec - Vegas editing beast!

1. Question Please check my PC spec - Vegas editing beast!

Hi all - about to spend the best part of 1.5k on a new build so want to check I am getting the best components I can. Basically the machine will be used for Sony Vegas 11pro and Photoshop.

Corsair obsidian 550d black
    Asus P8Z77 V
    Intel i7 3770K O/C 4.4Ghz
    Phanteks PH-TC14PE cooler
    16Gb (4x4) Samsung Green MV-3V4G3D/US O/C 2400Mhz
    650w Corsair TX series
    128Gb Crucial M4 SSD
    GTX570 GPU
    3TB Seagate Baracuda 7200rpm
    LGBH10LS38 blu-ray RW
    Windows 7 pro 64 bit

Advice appreciated

I'm not a hardware expert but to me your spec. seems more than adequate to cope with Vegas. One thing you might like to look into is having a third hard disk of 500Gb at 10,000rpm speed if you can. This is a better size disk for your current working projects.

Hope you enjoy your system.

3. Default

You say a 500gb 10k rpm is a better size disk for working projects. Why is this? The faster rpm copying/transferring data faster? The smaller disk size making it easier to find the files?

Would the larger 3tb disk be that much slower due to its size?

That's exactly right the faster spin speed and the smaller size helps the HDD to work faster. I saw a lecture by an industry pro who said th 500Gb size disk is about the right compromise of size needed with performance.

I use a 2Tb and 1Tb disk without much problem, I can't say how a 3Tb disk would work but having a SSD for your OS gives a great performance boost.

5. Default

Thanks for your input. Is that known as a scratch disc? Someone also suggested another ssd for a similar reason I think. I shall bear this in mind.

The I7 processor you have will do very nicely.
    Find out the model number of the Corsair PSU and read a few reviews on it, You should always spend a bit more time on the PSU, You want it to be efficient and constantly delivering the needed power.