Thread: Using Popular Music - Fair use?

Northumberland, England

Thumbs up Using Popular Music - Fair use?

Is it allowed to use popular music, which is obviously copyrighted, in making a video?
    I am making my second natural history documentary, just for personal use and to display on YouTube for others to see. It is mainly a way to teach myself skills.

I have read about a "fair use" policy. Does this come under that?

If you are using a very short amount of the track say 5% of total duration in the U.S fair use could be a possibility.
    However sorry to say it but my personal opinion is no..... it isn't worth the risk ...... copyright is a real grey area

I have looked into this for previous personal projects including clips from movies too.

maybe try Musopen or public domain music or buy some

That's my advice

Northumberland, England

Exactly what I thought ! I knew this was a stupid question and a stab in the dark!

I will stick to royalty free music, as a photographer I don't want people ripping off my photographs so I sympathise with the musicians too.

Not stupid at all ....... I asked the very same questions.

You are very wise and your comparison is a good one....

I know it is a real pain and very tempting...

Good for you

Blog Entries

There are 3 possible outcomes to using copyright music on YouTube:

1) nothing happens
    2) your video is automatically flagged as containing copyright music (for which there is no licence) and the audio is striped
    3) you get fined

With consideration of proportionality, 1 and 2 are the most likely scenarios. This should not be considered as legal advice.