Thread: What laptop should I buy? I need an advice from the more experienced

Question What laptop should I buy? I need an advice from the more experienced

Hi

I intend to buy a laptop. I'm a language teacher so this is not my job but only one of my hobbies I've discovered recently.
    Laptop's requirements:

• I would need it to edit photos and videos (only for personal use but I'd like them to be a little more pro; sort of creating personal albums with my photos, some nice videos as well from my trips or some video lessons).
    • I would need it to be able to store documents, photos, movies, to record mp3. (I've already got something for recording mp3 and editing photos.)
    • Also to be able to work online and to use Skype. I'm thinking of minimum 700 GB to have.

I am searching to buy one online (from UK) and I must remember that my budget is not as big as I'd like for it.

What would you recommend me?

Looking forward to your response!

Regards,
    Laura

Hi there, a few things you may need to consider)
    1 )- battery life...if you have power available this means you can have a "better" spec as power isn't a limiting factor. An external mains(or car?) PSU is good value.
    2)- temperature - can you keep the thing cool?
    3) external HDD - you'll need to back-up valuable files (not just in case of theft).
    4) Do you want to play video DVD's (this is when the processor power is tested), if you can avoid this, then the price will be a lot lower.
    5) Firewire - for tape-based camcorders - try to avoid this requirement...it restricts your choice. Most cameras/camcorders use flash memory now.
    6) Budget. sadly you only get low-spec small-screen PC's under 500 - you'll need nearer to 900 for something a bit better.