Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Svideo - Fire wire

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bude - Cornwall
    Posts
    57

    Default Svideo - Fire wire

    Hi guys my mum has got quite a old Cam corder (not sure on the make) and she wants me to put some video footage onto a dvd for her. The only problem is that the cam corder does not have a usb or fire wire port, although it does have a s-vide connection.

    My question is would it be possible to get a s-video to firewire lead? and what would the quality be like?

    Thanks in advance

    Mike

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,612

    Default

    No way.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,893

    Default

    A short and sweet answer there

    I'm afraid he's right. You'll need some sort of analoague-digital video capture box / card to do all that for you.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bude - Cornwall
    Posts
    57

    Default ok

    Thanks for the reply, what about if i recorded the film onto VHS, what would i need to then copy it from VHS onto my p.c?

    Thanks again

    Mike

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,893

    Default

    You'd probably be best capturing it straight from the camera to minimise any degradation in quality.

    I don't really have that much knowledge of these capture boxes, but I know some of the other guys on this board do. Come on guys, answer his question!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default Re: ok

    Quote Originally Posted by Mikeybude25
    Thanks for the reply, what about if i recorded the film onto VHS, what would i need to then copy it from VHS onto my p.c?

    Thanks again

    Mike
    Sadly, that doesn't change the answer at all. You'll still need the same A2D convertor.

    The cheapest analogue 2 digital convertor for this purpose will likely be around 50 UKP (example at http://tinyurl.com/88jh4 ). So if it is a one off effort then it will likely be cheaper to find a friend who can do this for you or get it done proffessionally.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Err - Northamptonshire?
    Posts
    672

    Default

    I had some joy with the Belkin dongle which is about 50. You could do what Mr. Mills said or alternatively, buy one and then sell it on on eBay - there seems to be quite a good market for second hand analog to digital converters. I've seen the Canopus ADVC-55 that I got for ~130 go for over 100....
    Premiere Pro, Encore, Photoshop, Ulead VS6, WXP Pro, Core 2 Duo, 2GB, 2 x 250GB SATA3 drives, 2 x 250GB USB 2 external drive, DVD writer, GeForce 7300 GS 256MB

    The biggest fool can ask questions that the wisest man cannot answer...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bude - Cornwall
    Posts
    57

    Default quality

    Ok thanks again, one last question if i go with the suggestion made by mr mills, i notice that it is a usb2 connection, as i am not sure if i have usb2 or usb 1.1 will this make a difference?

    Thanks again

    Mike

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Err - Northamptonshire?
    Posts
    672

    Default

    A USB 2.0 device is compatible with a USB 1.0 connection, and a USB 1.0 device is compatible with a USB 2.0 connection, I believe - but the speed of the connection reverts to USB 1.0 speed, which is significantly slower than either USB 2.0 or Firewire.
    Premiere Pro, Encore, Photoshop, Ulead VS6, WXP Pro, Core 2 Duo, 2GB, 2 x 250GB SATA3 drives, 2 x 250GB USB 2 external drive, DVD writer, GeForce 7300 GS 256MB

    The biggest fool can ask questions that the wisest man cannot answer...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bude - Cornwall
    Posts
    57

    Default

    Hi guys just had a thought regarding my first post.

    Would it be possible to connect my mums camcorder (Samsung vp w95d) to my Sony DCR-TRV33E and recored my mums video onto my camcorder which would then allow me too connect my camcorder upto my p.c and burn the footage onto dvd?

    Thanks in advance

    Mike

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. svideo problem????
    By anarchy12 in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-28-2006, 11:09 PM
  2. Fire-wire cable help
    By minsh in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-06-2006, 01:50 AM
  3. SVideo with TV
    By FuryX721 in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-05-2006, 12:57 AM
  4. Pull Wire
    By StevenBogda in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-08-2005, 12:34 PM
  5. What is this wire?
    By Shakeel in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-31-2005, 04:50 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •