Thread: The Wow! Signal

Default The Wow! Signal

I have always been fascinated by the Wow! signal (my generation I guess), so I made a video about it.

This is my FIRST ATTEMPT at dialogue between more than one person, so it is a little rough in the audio department.

It is also rough in the video department but I have no excuse for that.

Enjoy!

www.youtube.com/watch?v=XKJFYkajDuo

Zam
    Last edited by zamiotana; 05-19-2012 at 12:56 PM.

I've fixed the link for you HERE

I thought it started well but it kind of petered out. You had some good ideas but I thought they could have been executed better.

Quote Originally Posted by Midnight Blue View Post
    I've fixed the link for you HERE

I thought it started well but it kind of petered out. You had some good ideas but I thought they could have been executed better.
    I agree completely, however I'm not sure how to improve it (I can easily change the movie since all my videos are ongoing productions that I film with my wife and evolve over time).

If someone suggests an improvement, I'll try it and we can see!

I think it needs a severe trimming down by at least half, if not more. Once you get to the part of leaving the Geo thing you just spend far to long on each scene which makes the pace so slow I kept wanting to fast forward. I understand you wanted to have the Cloverfield home movie look but you have to keep it real. Digital video cameras don't have all that stuff happening when you turn them on like VHS recorders did.

The non existent script was noticeable in that it was obvious you were ad-libbing all the time but you didn't seem to take the role seriously, examples you were laughing when you heard the scary sound and you wife started running away, the lack of surprise when the picture changed on the newspaper, The total non reaction from your wife about the newspaper. These things really matter if you want the movie to be believable.

Hope this helps.

Blog Entries