Thread: holographic hud

Default holographic hud

hi,

I am new to video editing and this is my first project made in after effects after I watched some tutorials. Please let me know what you think.

For the 'raw' footage I mounted a gopro camera on a RC plane and flown around my house.

Job

It looked good to me. What area where you considering feedback about?
    I see a great example of using a gopro, two panels with information, and a strange red ring (which I could not imagine what it was).
    I very much liked the fast changing 'Information' panel. The immediate "effect" was that I supposed you had actually linked the craft's height etc to visible values in the shot. But seconds later, I wondered what the values were representing. But the trick worked briefly on me, so I was happy.
    I am not sure how you set AE to show you the fast changing values. There are, I know, 100 ways to do it; but I am curious whether your were considering using real life values from external sources, such as motion tracking or digital records from other instruments. I fancy seeing a clip with a HUD overlay, showing the aircraft's roll/pitch/yaw. Some of that data could be provided from AE's Tracking facility.

Thanks for the feedback that red ring is a kind of targeting system so I shows the information about the building on which the red ring it is placed.

For the fast changing information panel and the loading percentages I used the wiggle effect.

The immediate "effect" was that I supposed you had actually linked the craft's height etc to visible values in the shot. But seconds later, I wondered what the values were representing.
    I tried to first let the values be calculated (so it is just random crap generated by the wiggle effect) and then I filled in some values which I taught would be close to the actual height of the plane and my house. Those "actual values start at 0:04.