Thread: Creative Commons No-Derivatives

Default Creative Commons No-Derivatives

Quick question about the creative commons ND license.

Can a No-Derivatives song be used in the background of a video? I can't seem to find a clear ruling on this.

Thanks

In general I believe this to be the case so long as you give the right credits etc. BUT you may fine each individual may have certain stipulations of use so you would have to check with the original authors of the music to see it any restrictions apply. Sorry if that's not as black and white as you would have wanted but the law isn't alway black and white.

I'm not a legal expert I'm just going off my understanding of what I've read on the internet. Have you had a look at Creative Commons

Blog Entries

I'm afraid it looks like this rather depends on what your country defines as a derivative work or adaptation. The CC pages at Frequently Asked Questions - CC Wiki state:

What is an adaptation?

An adaptation, referred to in pre-3.0 licenses as a derivative work, is a work based on one or more pre-existing works. What constitutes an adaptation depends on applicable law, however translating a work from one language to another or creating a film version of a novel are generally considered adaptations.