Thread: Speed modeling a Lightsaber hilt

Default Speed modeling a Lightsaber hilt

Hi guys.

I recently started learning 3ds Max. Here is time-lapse of me modeling lightsaber hilt in 12 minutes (it's squeezed to 1:30, but methods should be quite clearly visible). I'm planning to learn enough to include some 3d elements in my future videos.

Speed Modeling - Lightsaber Hilt - YouTube

I don't have any formal training in 3d modeling yet, so there might be some flawed techniques of downright grotesque mistakes, so apologies for that. Hope you guys found it interesting.

3D studio max is a very complex piece of software, so all credit to you for achieving this. I'm no lightsabre expert but it looks excellent! A friend of mine used to teach 3DS max to TV companies, so I know how deep you can go with textures and reflection maps etc.
    Keep it up, a very worthwhile piece of software to master.
    My opinions are just that . . . Mine. It's not personal, but is based on my emotional and professional reaction to requested critique. If you choose to ignore constructive comments, I'll just assume you're a vanity poster and not posting to improve your filming and editing skills.

Ex A.P.V Videomaker of the year - Ex M.M. IOV Come join my EXclusive club

I thought this was great. Makes it look so easy when you see it like this. But I know its not. The software does require a good deal of patience and practice but the results can be excellent. This is my next step to 3D. Software is OK but the computer isn't, I need to upgrade. Keep at it.

Kudos to you just for being brave enough to have a go with software like this. It looked good to me but might have looked better if it was a darker colour.

Very impressive !!!
    That looks complicated software

Sadly, the cost prohibits most folk from using 3D Max. (It can cost over 3,000, see http://store.autodesk.co.uk/DRHM/store).