Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Convert HD video to burn onto an SD DVD

Default Convert HD video to burn onto an SD DVD

Hi all,

Sorry if there is another thread on this, I have searched but can't find anything.

I've just got a Sony NEX 7 camera that records in HD, but I don't have a blue ray burner/player. Is it possible to convert, downsize (I'm a newbie so not that familiar with the lingo!) the footage so I can burn it to an SD DVD?

The camera will record in the following AVCHD formats -

50i 24Mbps 1920x1080
    50i 17Mbps 1920x1080
    50p 28Mbps 1920x1080
    25p 24Mbps 1920x1080
    25p 17Mbps 1920x1080

It also records in MP4 format at 1440x1080 12Mbps

I use Sony Vegas Movie Studio HD Platinum 10

I guess what I'd like to do is edit the footage and get an HD .iso file so when I do upgrade my burner/player I can use the .iso file to burn to Blu Ray, but in the meantime get an SD DVD version to watch.

Hope that makes sense!

Thanks in anticipation

Steve

Yes Steve, this is very easy to do. Shoot the footage in HD edit on the time line and when it come to the render stage, select the mpeg2 formate and DVD Architect template. This will make an SD format file for you to put into DVD Architect. You could create a HD version and DVD Architect will convert it to put on a SD DVD. OR I think you can even burn a DVD right from Vegas if you want. If you save the project you can then go back to it and create a BluRay form the same project. Don't loose or move the original media files unless you know what you are doing or Vegas will not know where to find them again.

Hope this helps

Red face

Quote Originally Posted by Midnight Blue View Post