Thread: Can't even load .MOV files?

Default Can't even load .MOV files?

This is probably gonna be a stupid question since I'm still a bit of a novice at this, but hey, hopefully that means a quick fix...

So I was playing around with some files I recorded with my t2i earlier. They're in .MOV format, but they were working fine. For a while. Then I got the whole "no preview/black screen" problem, so I decided I should go convert my files or something. And so I put them through MPEG Streamclip, following some guides online. Now they're still in .mov form.
    Except when I go back to Vegas and try to import files...none of my .MOV (or .mov, if that makes a difference?) files show up. Neither the raw files from my t2i or the converted ones. As in, I can't even import them into Vegas because I can't find them (and I'm definitely looking in the right place). .AVI and .MP4 files still work fine as far as I can tell.

Is there some sort of codec I need or something? I realized that editing .mov files, even if they're "converted," might not be optimal, and I could just convert all my files to .mp4, but I'd rather not.

Edit: got another problem now. yay. The .mov files I have after using Streamclip are all audio-only. (Never mind. I'm really confused right now, but I can see video when I play them with Quicktime. I only get audio if I use VLC. Still can't open anything in Vegas though.)

Another edit: Alright, back to my original raw .MOV files. When browsing while importing files, I can now look at all files, so I can find the .MOV files. However, when I try to import them, I'm told that the file type is not supported. While I understand that .MOV is not exactly the best for editing in Sony Vegas, I was under the assumption that it's at least supported, especially because it was working just a few hours earlier...
    Last edited by electrolytic; 05-09-2012 at 06:27 AM.