Thread: How many hero2s needed to mwke coverage easy

Default How many hero2s needed to make coverage easy

I am an experienced stills photographer, just getting into video (with my canon 7D), and need to produce a video in about 6 months for my business, demonstrating a new ice skate performance enhancing product-- esp. capturing the reactions of the athletes at the trials. I've videod earlier trials, and it's notable trying to get coverage, with just me scampering around is reaaaaaalllly difficult.

I've read quite a few books on video: so understand the concept (and indeed need!) for B-roll footage: and am imagining what I'll do is video the reactions of skaters (by way of interview ...) so I have a lot of sound of them speaking, refelcting, I can use to intercut with video of them skating. Even so... it feels.. difficult.

I've been eyeing up Hero 2s which seem to give a fantastically involving POV type of shot. Again though: most hero videos suck: as they are really boring for more than 5 seconds, unless there are reaction shots to cut to etc, at which point they stop being like home video, and start being able to tell a story. There seems to be quite a wave of stuff just now: where gopro use say... 10 cameras, so clearly get a huge amount of footage at the time, that keeps options open in editing.

the thievry coportation live on youtube: where they used about 10 static go pro cams to avoid having cameramen scampering about...

and the gopro alaska expedition
    GoPro HD: GoPro Alaska Expedition - YouTube
    where most of the footage seems to be from gopros strung roung the neck of every person present at the launch of a balloon-- which avoided them having an explicit videographer present (though I think the editing is duff-- very choppy...)