Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rendered files with uncompressed render setting file size trouble

Default Rendered files with uncompressed render setting file size trouble

Hi,

I'm kind of new to video editing, I mostly got into it so that I could render videos taken by programs like Fraps from one or two of the games I play, primarily Star Wars: The Old Republic. So I took raw video in Fraps and it splits up each recording session into separate files which max out in size at roughly 4 gigabytes. They're raw video files, very high quality 1080P 60 FPS, etc., and I kind of wanted to be able to convert them to 720P so that I could stream them to my Xbox 360 and watch them on my TV, which is 1080i and won't support the 1080P files. So I tried using Xilisoft Video Converter, but for some reason, the files won't even show up when opened or dragged into that program. I looked online and found that Vegas was probably me best bet. So now I have Vegas and I'm working on tweaking the settings of my rendering sessions. I kind of want to leave the rendering setting at "uncompressed," so that there is no color distortion (I haven't found a decoder option which is able to keep the brightness and color the same as of yet). So I selected the proper rendering option and kept it at "uncompressed" for video options and rendered it at 29.97 FPS (when I tried it at 59.97, the resulting video did not turn out properly at all). So with these settings, it seemed to do everything correctly. I get a video file that looks good to watch and it's 720P. But there's one problem. The file size is enormous. It's bigger than the raw video file that I rendered. Does anyone know why this is? I rendered it with lower quality settings in terms of resolution and FPS, shouldn't the output file be smaller than the raw file? If not, if someone could tell me why, that would be most helpful. Or if someone has a suggestion for a smaller filesize at the quality settings I specified above without the brightne