Thread: What's wrong with my video?

Kitchener, Ontario

Default What's wrong with my video?

I've done a few video tours for real estate agents and I'm encountering some issues with my videos.
    If you play the video you can see that there's some flickering effect where the window blinds are, or where the roof is. Also you can see that effect several time during the video. What is that and how can I get rid of it? What am I doing wrong?
    I'm coming from a photography background and I've transited towards videography as a natural process due to a lot of demand for videos. So I have no formal training in this field, I'm just self-taught. And I'm still learning. And BTW, I'm using a Canon 5D Mk2 for my videos.
    Are there any specific settings I have to use for these videos?
    I would appreciate any comments that can help me solve it positively.
    Thank you.

Here's the latest video I made:

Ok so first of all have you updated the firmware for that cam? You may want to check it out as there was some reference to the video features in that update.

Second: There is nothing really wrong with the video as such. The streaking and strange lines around linear objects or sources of bright light and occasional jumpiness of the footage is due to the fact that you are recording in H.264 format. The is a very high level of compression and by compression we mean... throwing information away!

The format is not really compressing even though they say that! That gives you the idea that some software magic is happening and your files are being squished into something smaller. They call it compression because to tell you that the format is trashing a whole bunch of your data does not make for particularly good marketing!

So, care and feeding of H.264 shot video means that you MUST use a tripod or stabilizing device at all times. You must NOT zoom or pan quickly, slow and steady wins the race.