Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Looking For New Video Camera

Default Need New Camera - Sony Broke

Hello,
    My Sony Handycam from about 4 years ago just bit the dust.
    I didn't like it that much anyways because it shot in HD but I couldn't burn it in HD and the format was proprietary. As a result I a now looking at Canon, simply because I dont want to have to deal with any problems.

I am looking to spend anywhere between $800 and $1200.

Here are my Demands(lol)

1. It be compact
    2. Shoot and burn in high def
    3. Be easy to transfer files
    4. SOUND, the sound is very important to me as I shoot musicians. I would like very good sound and in stereo.
    5. Easy to use
    6. Do well in darker environments

I guess thats it. I just had such a problem with the Sony I don't want to have to worry about anything. I am not a pro and don't know how to fix delacing problems and whatnot. I just want to plug it into FCP or Premier and it look great from start to finish.

I would greatly appreciate any and all comments
    I don't really know whats good and not. Often its not till after I buy something that I realize the problems.
    Here is what Ive been looking at.

Canon VIXIA HF G10 Camcorder - 1080p - 2.37 MP

Canon LEGRIA HV40 Camcorder - 1080p - 2.96 MP

Thanks again for the help
    Last edited by EdMarx; 04-30-2012 at 12:08 AM.

The G10 is nearly twice the price of the other camera... but it is the audio side you need to look at, since Audio is nearly always the last thing to be considered by the buying public, bless 'em.

For some more money Canon offers XLR-inputs and dual SDHC slots, either as security copy, or for longer shoots I guess...