Thread: Sam Foster | Film/Game Composer!

1. Cool Composer/Recent College Grad | Sam Foster

I am Sam Foster and I'm a recent college grad! I've scored a TV PSA ad, a documentary, animations, and video games. I'm inspired by numerous film and game composers. I compose in a wide array of styles: electronic, ethnic, classical, jazz, rock, etc. For more info and to listen to my showreels, visit my website: www.samanthafoster.net
    Last edited by titanicpiano14; 06-02-2012 at 01:53 AM.

Hi Sam, I tried the link, and the opening photo was terrible. Then the 'enter' link eventualy started (I spent the time waiting and wondering if this was some sort of virus site), and so it started with a photo of a 'crab?' followed eventualy by some generic drama music.

Not really the impression I would be hoping for. I would suggest a much simpler site with the menu items (that eventualy showed up) presented immediately. I'm not sure what you were attempting here, but it doesn't give a good impression at all.

3. Default

Okay - website bug fixed.

Erm no, starts off with a very badly lit and posed photo of you, telling me you are a designer???

Then tells me it's loading you (why do I care?), flips to another awful picture of you in front of a housing estate, then presents a really good menu with your pic on it, but then 1 second later it's back to crabs and cucumbers, alongside the most confusing menu items I have ever seen.

I don't know who is doing your website, but I have been involved with websites since they began, and this is called 'gilding the lilly' - trying to look impressive without any concern for the user. This person is using you, although no doubt impressing you, but taking your money. In web design you have to distance yourself from looking at yourself, and think about your audience.

A decent designer would care about your audience, this person just wants to show off, and they are messing with your image, and your business, in the process.