Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My First Car Film... Civic (A Honda Civic Short Film)

Default My First Car Film... Civic (A Honda Civic Short Film)

This is my first attempt at making a car film. Feel free to criticize just make it constructive to help me learn and expand.

iMac 21.5", 8 GB Ram, 500 GB HD, 2 TB EXTERNAL HD. Final cut Express. Final Cut Pro X. Motion 5 for some special effects.

Smalltown, Queensland

A head on collison at 3.40 would have really made this video

Surrey, UK
    Blog Entries

Whilst there's a lot that could be a lot slicker with this video, as a non-petrolhead I found it much more watchable than most car vids we see.

I think this is for two reasons: It had a narrative, not a particularly strong one, but a narrative non the less, and the driver was a minor co-star. This showed the car as not just a heap of steel, but also a part fo someone's life. i like the fact that we saw him taking photos of the car but you didn't feature this in ay way - we're just left to observe it.

Some suggested areas for improvement:
    Many of the tracking shots are less than perfect - this comes with practice.
    Whilst you got some interesting angles here and there, it still felt that there were a lot of shots taken from standing height, which meant you're looking down on the subject. Cars generally look better looking level or up at them. Case in point - loading the boot at the beginning - a nice start to the film and the narrative, but made rather boring by the shot chosen. Something level with the boot would be better, and how about a shot from inside the boot as the guy loads - much more "filmic".
    The shot at 1:30 left a bit to be desired - it's neither a shot of te road nor the mirror: it should be (mainly) one or the other, but here we had almost a split screen and even there the reflected shot showed an unsatisfactory part of the driver.

There were some good few shots in there.