Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Connecting 2nd hand canon xm2 to computer

  1. Default Connecting 2nd hand canon xm2 to computer

    hi all
    I have just taken the plunge to start some video footage for my business, in an attempt to obtain a half decent result i have just bought a 2nd hand canon xw2. Any advice would be great, particularly how to connect it to my pc??? The manual says connect a dv lead from one to the other but there is no socket on the pc for the dv lead?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    The connection is also known as FireWire. If you don't have one, yiu'll need to open up your pc and install a pci card.

  3. Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Peters View Post
    The connection is also known as FireWire. If you don't have one, yiu'll need to open up your pc and install a pci card.
    Thanks for the reply
    where do you advise that I take the comp to for them to sort it? Will pc world deal with it do you think?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,842
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Yes, even they could do it! It's really easy and you can do it yourself (literally take the cover off, take out the "blanking" plate at the back of the PC, slot in the card & reassemble) but I can understand your reluctance to do it. A firewire card should cost you 10-15. try to get on with a TI (Texas Instruments) chip as these are (apparently) more universal.
    Tim

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    972

    Default

    Agree with that, I recall I got a mini-CD with the appropriate install driver . . . . (OS Win7) seemsed to install OK.

    However, I suggest you make sure it's a PCI card - i.e. NOT a PCI express (with narrow contact strip). Also these cards witll offer both 4-wire and 6-wire (ie with power connections) - worth having both types - Also make sure your camera fits the other end of the cable they supply.
    (The reason is that PCI express slots are (usually) few in yr PC and should be kept free for later high-speed needs (e/g/ external Sata (eSATA), or USB3, etc.
    Firewire isn't so fast that PCI can't cope, since the camera tape is running "real-time".

Similar Threads

  1. Canon XHA1 not connecting to Drive
    By Morpheous in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-28-2010, 09:51 PM
  2. Connecting a Flat Screen Tv to my computer
    By Starkie in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-21-2009, 06:11 PM
  3. Need help connecting canon mv630i to PC via Firewire
    By M!ke in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-27-2007, 11:37 AM
  4. Problem connecting a Canon Xl1s to an LCD TV please Help@!
    By Intwist in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-02-2005, 02:52 PM
  5. Connecting the computer to a VCR - record computer gaming
    By RasCzaK in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-23-2004, 07:25 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •