Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How long should 2hrs of HDV edited footage take to export?

  1. #1

    Default How long should 2hrs of HDV edited footage take to export?

    I'll be making a leap from SD to HD editing soon (gulp)..I am a little nervous as im hearing rendering/exporting can take HOURS. My projects are generally 2hrs long.

    My system specs:
    Win7 64bit
    16GB RAM
    i7 2600k processor 3.4GHZ
    2TB HD (RAID0)
    1TB 7200RPM external HD
    Good enough video card, can't recall the exact specs..will check later once at home.

    I will be editing using PPro CS5.1

    Should I be worried?
    Last edited by shaf; 04-13-2012 at 05:30 PM.

  2. #2

    Default

    This is a how long is a piece of string question. It all depends on your settings and the amount of changes you have made to the original. If you have done a lot of transitions, colour work etc.....Then add on to that equation how efficient your computer is running, how full your hard disks are, the speed of your disks etc..... Now add in a mixture of mystery and that is the answer.

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Midnight Blue View Post
    This is a how long is a piece of string question. It all depends on your settings and the amount of changes you have made to the original. If you have done a lot of transitions, colour work etc.....Then add on to that equation how efficient your computer is running, how full your hard disks are, the speed of your disks etc..... Now add in a mixture of mystery and that is the answer.
    I see

    Maybe someone who works with HDV can give examples of timeframes?
    Last edited by shaf; 04-13-2012 at 07:53 PM.

  4. #4

    Default

    My system similar to yours
    To render 100 minutes with no effects took about 30 mins to MPEG2 in Sony Vegas (it uses CUDA)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Queen's Park NW6
    Posts
    130

    Default

    You shouldn't be worried, your system looks like it packs a fair bit of punch, but Midnight make's some valid points there.

    Video Production Services Company UK London

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Queen's Park NW6
    Posts
    130

    Default

    If they employ idiots like you who spam non-related message boards with completely off topic messages, then I don't hold much hope for their future.

    Quote Originally Posted by sreenuakkireddi View Post
    This website, Your-employment.comyour employment paves you the way in placing you in the employment you are looking for our motto is the youth’s energy should not be wasted. There are so many opportunities for the youth in all sectors. Undoubtedly we can say all the managements are looking for the skilled .the unskilled need not be disappointed, since this website Your-employment.com will not find you the ways in securing employment but also help you in instilling the confidence in you by showing you the ways to enrich your personality . Your-employment.com
    Video Production Services Company UK London

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    972

    Default

    Moderators, can we lose .... [Edited or I'll be deleting a valid post!]

    To OP, I have a somewhat modest system with Win7 32-bit (so only 3.5Gb RAM) and no CUDA graphics card. It's 2-core 3GHz so you can adjust figures... in general HD takes 5x run-time (so clearly, #4 has a fab PC) and a 4hr video took nearly 24 hrs to render, so I guess the x5 Rule was working. Strangely, the PC just kept running with no trouble says something for Win7 and Vegas Studio, eh?.

    BTW, welcome to HD NLE.
    Last edited by TimStannard; 05-01-2012 at 04:59 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. How Long should export take?
    By sniktawk in forum AVCHD and HDV editing
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-26-2012, 07:52 AM
  2. want your film footage edited for free on final cut pro?
    By westwoodl in forum Pimp the Link
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-10-2008, 03:39 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-12-2007, 11:40 AM
  4. how do i render 2hrs of footage???
    By jonnyc747 in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-18-2006, 12:07 AM
  5. No sound when importing previously edited footage
    By gamesdv in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-21-2005, 10:09 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •