Thread: My software problem, is which software to learn??

Default My software problem, is which software to learn??

This has probably been asked a 1000 times but I'd like some fresh views. Especially since the release of Final Cut Pro X 10.0.3

I'm just starting out with video editing. I'm a Web Designer and a client has asked if I could edit some video for them. They want me to do this because I work very closely with them and they want to change the video intros etc to suit their different clients.

They are taking this quite seriously and we have hired a camera man. He has provided some footage shot with a Panasonic camera, AVCCAM.

I've looked at Premier Pro and Final Cut Pro X and I just can't decide which program to spend the time and money buying and learning.

I use a mac and I'm very familiar with some of the other Adobe programs, such as Photoshop and InDesign.

I am wanting to create a fairly basic edit with an intro created in After Effects.

Which should I go for? Premier or Final Cut Pro X?

Get both, Download a trial of both pieces of software, have a play and see which one YOU like the most.

I personally cannot get on with FCP-X, But I know other editors are in love with it. Any user on here can say "Oh yes Premier is the best" or "FCP-X" is the best, The fact is if you can deliver what the client wants, Your using a tool that does not fail you and you are comfortable using, That's all that matters!

Thanks man, that does sound both obvious and sensible.

I have actually had a very quick play with both and my initial leaning is towards FCP X. The interface just looks better and when I tried to do a really simple edit in both FCP seemed the most intuitive. I especially liked how the colourising worked and how you could see what the effects looked like. Premier seemed to offer plenty control but was less visual and more menu based.