Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Frame rate issues - I want 30fps, not 29.970!

  1. #1

    Question Frame rate issues - I want 30fps, not 29.970!

    Hi, I record videos using fraps at 1280*720p, 30fps. When I render my videos for upload to youtube, the best option appears to be MP4, using 720p @ 30fps, as it is my original size and framerate. However, when I select the preset "Internet 1280x720-30p", the description says that the framerate is 29.970. AFAIK, this will cause interpolation or frame skipping, resulting in a loss of quality. If I manually enter "30" into framerate textbox in the custom settings, it just fails to render completely, saying "The reason for the error could not be determined".

    I am using Vegas Pro 10.0

    What should I do?
    Last edited by IceQubed; 04-02-2012 at 08:05 PM.

  2. #2


    Are you sure the fraps recording is actually 30fps and not just the generic term 30fps which is actually 29.970fps. This is such a confusing thing when the frame rate is said to be 30 fps but actually isn't. What does vegas report the frame rate is when you look at the clip properties ?

    Even if it is the case I doubt you me or anyone would notice the difference. Render a short section at 29.970 and see what that looks like.

  3. Default

    Sony AVC doesn't support 30.0 fps (it's a bug)
    You can slightly slow down your 30 fps clips to 29.97 fps (set playback rate to 0.999 and set Disable Resample ON)

  4. #4


    One might convert the original (30fps) as a sequence of high quality stills. Then create a 29.97 project and import the stills.
    Although that may avoid nasty visual effects, it will change the duration of the clip (My maths suggests that over 5 mins; the difference between 29.97 and 30fps is around 9 frames, i.e a third of one second).

  5. #5


    I'm sure it would work but it's a lot of faffing around just for 9 frames of a computer game recording. I defy anyone to spot the pulldown.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Blog Entries


    Experiment and export using those settings. If you can't tell the difference, then there's no issue.

  7. #7


    The frame rate hasn't been 30fps since colour was introduced.

    For every 1000 seconds there was 1 second added for colour information i.e. 30,000 frames / 1001 seconds = 29.97fps.

    Recoding at 29.97fps doesn't distort anything.

Similar Threads

  1. How do I change the frame rate?
    By Daffypuck in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-11-2010, 06:18 AM
  2. Frame rate is off
    By kwan in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-06-2009, 02:33 AM
  3. Frame rate reduction
    By gildas in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-26-2007, 09:41 AM
  4. Canon XL-2 frame rate.
    By sspeiper in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-15-2007, 11:21 PM
  5. Frame rate help please
    By ici in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-17-2006, 05:32 PM


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts