Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Recommendations for video editing software?

Default Recommendations for video editing software?

Hello,

I hope this post is acceptable for this forum. I'm a rank newbie at video editing, having messed around a little with Windows Movie Maker, but would like to do some more.

My daughter got married last week, and I have loads of photos and videos from people's digital cameras. I would like to make one DVD containing the best of this lot. The reason I'm looking for something more than WMM is that ideally I would like to be able to do things like...

*) fade between two videos of the same event. For example, several people videoed the actual wedding ceremony, each from their own angle. Instead of just looking at one video, I would like to fade from one to another (and possibly to others), whilst using the sound from only one video. That way, we could see the ceremony from various angles, but wouldn't have any variation in the sound quality (which there is between the videos), nor any jumps where I move from one video to another.

*) show stills pics over a video. For example, we ahve footage of the reception, some of which is just general video of people milling around. On its own, this isn't so exciting, but would be good if I could have some still pics fly in and out.

*) add my own soundtrack at various points, and fade between that and the video sound

*) obviously I would like the usual stuff like transitions between videos, and titles, but I reckon any package would give me that.

Anyone able to recommend something free or not too expensive? I have been looking at Sony Vegas Movie Studio HD Platinum Production Suite 11 and Avid Studio, both of which look like good packages. However, it's very hard to tell if they will do what I want without trying them. They both have trial versions, and I intend to try them out, but I was hoping to pick up on some experienced voice here.