Thread: Tips for an amateur sports-videographer

East Coast

Default Tips for an amateur sports-videographer

So, I recently volunteered my time to help my high school's athletic director to film school sporting events. I'm rather new to the sports filming, having my previous experience in school film-ish projects. Here's the materials I have:

-Two camcorders
    - two digital cameras capable of video
    - a large tripod
    - a small flexible camera mount
    -Adobe premier, audition, and various related packages
    -a laptop
    - an iPad
    - an R/C helicopter with a built in camera
    -about 200 dollars, possibly able to get more
    - a lot of time

so, the first sport is tennis. There are 4 adjacent courts, and I was thinking that I'd just focus on one. I thought maybe I could mount a camera on the chain link fence, one behind each player, at a slight downward angle, so as to capture the game from behind each player. Side angles would be awkward as it would capture other active tennis courts. i'd then edit it to switch from one camera to the other so as to best capture the player who was interacting with the ball. Main question here: Is there any way to wirelessly connect both cameras to my laptop/iPad and toggle between which camera feed is part of the video (basically on-the-go editing) or at least make it so they're recorded simultaneously? Or at least a media suite where I can play these two videos simultaneously?

Next is baseball, an entirely different monster. I've found a spot where, held up to the normal gaps in the chain link fence, I can get a nice picture behind the batter where the pitcher is also visible. Then I could mount a camera on both right and left field fences, perhaps, to capture the field players interacting with the ball. Main question here: Is there any efficient way to edit it so that I can take a normal, large, wide-range video to look like it's zooming in? I'm sure it's possible, but I'd like to avoid going frame-by-frame.