Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: From the Front Row - Close Enough

1. Default From the Front Row - Close Enough

I made the following videos for a non-profit organization. The first one didn't have any color correction at all, in the second one I started playing with "Match Colors" in Final Cut Pro X, and kept on matching to other frames to get a more "coherent" feel between the camera angles.

First Video:
    From the Front Row: Close Enough - In Medea's Arms - YouTube

Second Video:

This is one of those videos where there isn't very much technically wrong with it but it just doesn't work. The content is not good enough to carry the very basic shots that you have. As a piece of documentation it works as the images are clear and the sound is clean but as a piece of entertainment it doesn't work for me.

What would I have done different ? I would have made the set look very different with the use of lighting that fitted with the mood of the song and used a greater variety of shots. With extreme close ups, lots of different angles etc....

Surrey, UK
    Blog Entries

Have to agree with Midnight.
    The background is messy and a distraction. If you want musical paraphenalia around, that's OK, but the shot looking out through the window is incredibly untidy and makes the other stuff look more like clutter than artistically placed.
    I suspect i's been shot like this because you have no lighting - in which case find a better place to set up. Or film it outside.

Don't worry about it not being live audio. So long as you sing along (rather than mime) it will look fine. By separating the audio recording from the visuals, you'd saving yourself from having to concentrate on too many things.

4. Default

Thanks a lot for your input. We're filming a session with another band tomorrow. We'll try not to film through the window, get some extra lighting and put some less musical paraphernalia around

5. Default