Thread: I'm in need of inspiration

1. Default I'm in need of inspiration

Hi there.

I have been using Premiere Pro for 6-7 years now, editing other people footage.

I would like to be able to create a showreel using footage that I have shot myself and then edited together with Premiere Pro and After Effects.

My problem is that when I have a blank canvass my imagination does not get going.

I am asking you guys what inspires you when you start creating a short film? Or can you suggest any ideas for where to start. I need to start creating my own showreel to be able to show people what I am capable of.

Thank you.

This is such a deep question what instigates the spark of creation. Well, before the begining of time there was a supreme being..... Ok we don't have to go that deep.

To get a showreel together I would look through the footage I have and pick some of the very best bits and make a list of them so I know which ones to choose, just doing this can often spark an idea to get me started. Once you start it's easy to keep going. For a piece like a showreel, I often start with the music. Once I have what I want, I can then edit my footage to match the music.

If you need more insparation Google showreels and knock yourself out on YouTube and Vimeo to see what other people have done for their showreels.

Hope this helps.

3. Default

Many thanks. I should of known...Google it!. I think my main issue is that I want to pick up my camera jump in the car and shoot something. I thought about just making a video to promote the City that I live in.

London, England

I suggest a different tack, to develop your own showreel.

Think back to those vids you Edited - which were the greatest pleasure? . . . on a sheet of paper write down subjects/scenes/sounds . . . then later, you can review seemingly random topics and try to make some Order.