Thread: Camera Advice/Recommendations

Default Camera Advice/Recommendations

Hi there, this is my first post on here but if you would, I'd like some advice please.

Ok, so first off, I have got a Canon 60D with a Tamron SP AF 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II LD IF Lens which I use to make videos to put on youtube. Unfortunately I do think the 60D I bought off of Ebay from Hong Kong may be a fake (stupid on my part I know) as I do really only use it for video and the image it puts out is rather poor when I compare it to other youtubers using a 60D. I know they may be using different lenses to mine but when I compare it to people using say a T2i/550D with just a kit lens, their image quality seems tenfolds better than my own.

I have taken it to a local camera shop where I asked if they could take a look at it, and they did say it was real but the guy only guessed due to it's weight. Now I'm no expert but I'm going to say that's not really reliable. I have done tests to see if it was my lens but when compared to other lenses, I couldn't tell the difference. And I have asked on other forums to see if I'm doing anything wrong in the editing process and they've not noted I'm doing anything wrong.

So my real point to this is that I intend to sell my camera and lens, what I'm looking for is advice on what to get. I was looking at the 600D although it lacks on the photography side, I have seen it is relatively same-ish as the 60D on the video side. So do I go for this with (Canon EOS 600D Digital Camera Kit with 18-55mm EF-S Lens) and get a canon 50 mm F/1.8 and something like this (Canon 17-85 EF-S Lens in Whitchurch, Cardiff | Digital Cameras for Sale | Gumtree.com). Presuming I sell it somewhere near the 800 mark.