Thread: Windows Movie Maker & .MOV File Frustration (includes a rant)

Default Windows Movie Maker & .MOV File Frustration (includes a rant)

I've been using computers for forty years and PCs for thirty two. Almost all my friends consult with me when they have computer questions/problems. I have written over 50 programs and sell one world wide, with many free utilities in wide use.

<RANT ON>The Video area is a total nightmare. I only need to do a short video about every six months to a year. Every time I do it I have to relearn this arcane stuff. For some totally incomprehensible reason, the most widely used novice video editor, Windows Movie Maker, refuses to recognize the video format most widely generated by digital cameras -- .MOV . INCREDIBLE ! That simple fact alone demonstrates how utterly and hopelessly screwed up the video area is.

I relearn this every six months, then hunt down the procedure for converting .MOV to WMV or AVI or something Movie Maker in not too haughty to recognize. Last time I used something called MP4Cam2AVI. This time it converted the .MOV files to .avi. They appear to be the correct file size, and when I run these .avi files they run for the correct time, BUT, the screen is black throughout. Before changing to MP4Cam2AVI, and after an unreasonably long web hunt, I dug up something called RAD. RAD worked once or twice, Then in some way I can no longer remember RAD quit working; forcing me to dig up MP4Cam2AVI. Of course, MP4Cam2AVI won't convert to Movie Maker's native format WMV -- again, probably the two most common formats for editing with .MOV being probable the format most people need to convert -- thanks. And now, as explained above, MP4Cam2AVI has stopped converting to .avi in a usable form <RANT OFF>

So, my question is:

Is there no free video editor that will accept the ubiquitous .MOV files directly, without whining, and allow them to be edited using features roughly equal to Movie Maker?