Thread: Stabilizer problem: Canon HFM40

Question Stabilizer problem: Canon HFM40

Newbie here so please bear with me.

Have just upgraded my old Panasonic SD tape DV camera to the Canon HFM40 HD camera which uses SD storage.

My specific use is as an in-car video recorder in my race car - used predominantly in tarmac rally events, so not smooth circuit racing.
    The Panasonic did an excellent job of stabilizing the images, and I expected the Canon (they invented image stabilizing I thought??) to be at least as good, but probably better.

My results to date are appalling - so much so that I am considering using the old Panasonic!!

I'll try to be brief:
    The camera is mounted on a Manfrotto professional quality clamp and fitted to the roll cage.
    First clips were on Programmed AE mode and were so blurry in all stabilized modes as to be unwatchable. I then twigged to setting the shutter speed (doh, I'm not just a newbie to the forum! ) so then set out to film trial clips at both 1/500 and 1/1000.

This solved the frame blurring nicely, but there is still considerable camera shake without stabilizer (as expected) but when I put the stabilizers on every clip has this kind of wavy appearance like the surface of the sea. Reviewing frame by frame shows there is considerable distortion of the image which is causing this wavyness - imagine a the image is overlaid over a cloth waving like a flag in a gentle breeze and you can get the feeling of what's happening.

I am importing unmodified clips into Final Cut Pro X on a Macbook Pro. I have produced a couple of optimized clips and run it through the stabilizer analysis in FCP to no effect.

I have run multiple clips with various combinations of:
    MXP and FXP
    50i and PF25
    Standard stabilizer, Dynamic Stabilizer, Powered stabilizer
    1/500, 1/1000

None of the clips give a result that I'd be prepared to upload to YouTube (unlike my old clips of which there are plenty on YouTube - search for "intgrr").