Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: making a professional looking video to accompany a CV

Default making a professional looking video to accompany a CV

Hi, I am applying to various jobs overseas and I thought that using a video as well as a CV would be a good introduction since it is possible I may never get to meet the person that will be my first contact.

This is my first try, I know it's not great and needs allot of work but ti's a start:

Jacques talking.wmv - YouTube

What I would like to do is re-make that video with a white background and have some engineering charts floating in the background. What type of hardware and software would I need to do this? Right now I am using a hand held video camera and Windows Moviemaker.

I've looked at the video, watched it for the first 40 seconds then skimmed through each 20 second block, Here are my thoughts below but please remember this is only my opinion, I am not a gifted communicator so if I cause offence please understand it is not my intention!

Don't send off a video
    Whilst the video might help communicate who you are and what you do in a way that gives greater "wow" to the company, It could also turn them off you very very quickly, I'd think carefully about how helpful the media is and if it adds anything that your CV does not already state. With respect, Based on the video you strike me as a nervous person who is not confident in their skills or abilities.

I am most likely incorrect in my assumption but I reached that conclusion based on
    - lack of eye contact with the camera, looks like your reading off a script below the camera.
    - Lots of looking from side to side.
    - Every public speakers worst nightmare, The dreaded "um"

I am not saying this to offend you in any way! I'm simply highlighting this before your employer takes one look at it and goes "I've now seen this guy via video, Well I won't waste any time talking to him, I'll try candidate 2"