Thread: Looking to get into this field!

Default Looking to get into this field!

Hi all.

Just wanted to introduce myself. I've just quit a job I had in market research (hated it) and have realised I'm craving a more creative career - hence me joining you here. I believe I'm a good amateur photographer and my friends have always liked my photos and said I have a good eye for composition. Recently I have I have been having a play with some footage from an old 3CCD 1080i Panasonic camcorder and have been editing it using Adobe Premiere Pro. It's been great fun (though you'd probably cringe at the output lol).

My question is this - I was wondering if I could gain some experience in anyone's company here? I'd like to see "how it's done", but would obviously be keen to "have a go" at the same time. I'm willing to get stuck in and help out however I can.

I'm in the fortunate position of having some savings with which I'm intending to kit myself out with some professional DSLR/video gear. For example I'm thinking about buying something like a Canon 5d Mk2 or a Canon XF100 to get me started. I would be willing to use it for your purposes if that was at all useful. (Some buying advice wouldn't go amiss whilst we are at it but that's probably best done elsewhere I appreciate!)

I live in Birmingham so the West Midlands area would be handy, but could do a short stint in London staying at my brother's. I drive so have some flexibility.

HI Frank,

I wouldn't recommend going out and buying a 5d first i mean your looking at 3 grandish, there are more suitable cameras for starting out i (A Nicon d90 is prob a better starting point if you want to work with a dslr) with and just making films or stings or anything, is prob the best was to get stuck in also it would be alot more fun and you would have a little reel to send out to people. You will also know if you enjoy it !

London, England