Thread: My very first nature film! AG-HVX200! And my first post on here!

Default My very first nature film! AG-HVX200! And my first post on here!

So my name is Zac Peetsma and I'm a young film student in the great white north! I've had some professional experience, I was a camera op for a small snowboard show and now I'm back in school!

I'm not a huge fan of the AG-HVX200 but its the best camera at my disposal right right now!
    Editing was done on Final Cut Pro 7

I'm looking for lots of feed back about the shots and the editing! Feel free to tell me anything you think about my video.

I'm not totally sure how to post links on these forums yet but hopefully I'm doing this right
    Last edited by TimStannard; 02-07-2012 at 05:16 PM. Reason: Edited to display video

Blog Entries

Hi Zac and welcome.

The great white north of where? (Country/Continent/Planet?)

I hope you've read the bit at the top of this section and/or have read the sort of critiques we give here. The following may sound harsh, but it is only with the intention of suggesting how you might improve. You say you're a film student so you should be open to criticism.

Don't be too unenthusiastic about the camera - it's a fine model and from what I can see from that short clip you've got quite a way to go before you outgrow it, unless there are some specific requirements you have which the HVX200 doesn't have.

From a content point of view, I wonder what the purpose of the film is. It's a collection of quite picturesque shots, but it doesn't really tell us what it's trying to be.

There's no narration or captions giving us any indication of where we are or what we're looking at - so we can't say it's purpose is to educate or inform. It clearly doesn't tell a story. There's no narrative to it which means there's nothing to tempt the viewer to watch further and no reward at the end. This applies to "just" a montage as much as it does to a full blown scripted drama.