Thread: My first attempt at music promo

1. Default My first attempt at music promo

This guy asked me to do a video promo for his album coming up. I never done a music promo before, so this is my first attempt at it.

Feedback would be cool, good or bad, but not about the music, editing. Thanks for your time. Also it's only 1min & 11 secs long.

I filmed everything but the club dance scenes which were lower Q. Added special effects, and time lapse to speed and slow the dance moves up.

plays up to 1080p

ANDRE B PROMO VIDEO - YouTube

Blog Entries

How did you think it turned out, and how was it received by the client?

To be honest, the opening countdown roll set the scene for the video; this is typically used on our first videos as we start to explore the world of video editing. The effects seemed to be randomly inserted, rather than adding visual impact, and there was nothing that compelled me to watch.

It may sound harsh, but I'm struggling to find a way to improve the video without filming and editing the entire video again. I suggest that you draw inspiration from other promo videos posted on vimeo.com. There are plenty. One that I can think of off the top of my head is for the correspondents. The Correspondents: An Introduction on Vimeo

How did you approach the film and edit?

3. Default

Quote Originally Posted by Marc Peters View Post

To be honest, the opening countdown roll set the scene for the video; this is typically used on our first videos as we start to explore the world of video editing. The effects seemed to be randomly inserted, rather than adding visual impact, and there was nothing that compelled me to watch.