Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Please Help with choosing a colour back ground.

Default Please Help with choosing a colour back ground.

Hi everyone

I am considering shooting video footage on either a plain black, white for infinity look, grey or red background. I will buy the proper material from video photography store.

I am a beginner but am thinking of buying a proper light kit from Smick.co.uk with balanced bulbs .At present I am using clamp lamps with normal CFL bulbs please see video.

Can you please give me any advice on choice or do I need to change my outfit?

I like the black tux bow tie look but am open to suggestions/advise.

I need my head and body to be visible for body and hand movements (i.e.) not trying to disappear into the background etc.

My concern is would white background be no good as my white shirt arms and white gloves would vanish??? If I wore a back suit jacket and black gloves would that work better with white background as more definition between background and me? Or would the white shirt still not work?

Would a grey background be very good too as it would not match ant of my colours and is soft and non-distracting?

I have been advised that my present background is too distracting.

If I shoot on black and I am back lit (3 point lighting using smick lighting kit with proper bulbs etc)) would my present outfit look good or would the black waist coat merge into black background? I am hoping, as I am backlit I would appear separate form the black background even though I am the same colour?

I think black would be good for white hand movement and would emphasise my face colours well but I am a novice in these matters.

My initial decision is important as I would like to keep all my footage the same but if I have to change now and again and mix things up a bit it is not a major concern but I would like to get it right from the start.

I appreciate the best way is to test all above but I am very interested in your opinion.