Thread: can i vent about a writer / producer / director here???

Angry can i vent about a writer / producer / director here???

Anyhow. sorry to need to vent. and here as my first post. but any how. I'm an editor / videographer / and producer at times.

I've been working for the last 3 years with a script writer / director / producer. Any how she always produces a script/shot list/storyboard for videos that we shoot together for a mutual client. (client hired her to produce/write, me to shoot/edit). This last video, she gives me the shot list from footage we already shot. I do the edits as per her sheet of paper. She picks all shots, VOs everything. I typically do as the sheet of paper says - shes's the writer, thats why they hire her right?

we were on a deadline... so Anyhow I'm rushed with 5 other projects, so I do as her script/shot sheet says. For this project im hired to be an editor... not a producer/director, thats her job.

Now her shot sheet says to do edit ABD - now im taking crap cause i wasn't a mind reader and didn't realise what she really wanted was it to be edited ABC.

I get an email chewing me out... now we are missing the deadline, and she's basically putting me out to hang. Saying its all my fault. If you give me a verbatim script, and tell me to follow it and I do... then why am I getting in sh*t and now threatened that i'm going to loose my contract with my client???

Totally pissed at the situation.

Part of the last email she sent me... "Don't be an edit-by-number guy. I'm perfectly capable of editing these myself but, instead, I have to WRITE EVERYTHING DOWN (every single in and out...) to get you to do it. And then you don't even pay attention to see that it works."

Do what I want not what I say, Classic. "You should have known I didn't want it like that just because I said I did". There is no winning when you come up against that sort of attitude.