Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Having some problems...total newb here :)

Default Having some problems...total newb here :)

Hey...I'm somewhat new to video editing. Pretty much the extent of my video edits in the past have been very basic, effect-devoid, 2 minute movies in Apple's iMovie.

Now, here I sit, needing to edit about a 10+ minute video production for a class project, and I've got Sony Vegas 5 and have no idea how to use it.

The actual cutting and effects I can (and for the most part, already have) figured out for myself. But, for the life of me I can't figure out how to make this damned thing do proper subtitles.

All I need is to be able to insert subtitles in each scene (the dialogue is in Latin, and nobody really speaks Latin), so everyone knows what's going on.

Simple question, I know, but I've gotta figure it out

Thanks for any help.
    Newb...and proud.

Default Text media

Hey

I can relate to your situation --- it was only 6 months ago i was faced with doing a 10 minute video for a class project!

The easiest way to add subtitles is to add a text media event (insert - text media). Resize the text so it is subtitle-size. Then, click on the "Placement" tab, and in the drop down box, where it currently says "Free form", select centre bottom (or bottom centre/bottom middle/middle bottom). This will position the text in the bottom of the screen in the centre. Add a safezone of around 10% to make it look nice. Unfortunately, I just think you will have to just have a new textbox for each subtitle grouping.

Good luck,

Andrew

3. Default

Tropettiste's solution sound fair enough. But are there easier ways of doing it in other software? What other software?

Bluff Titler or Swishmax

5. Default