Thread: Higher-End Market

1. Default Higher-End Market

Hi guys,

Does anybody have any tips for breaking into the higher-end market for event videography, particularly weddings? I am relatively new to the business, have been pursuing it now officially full-time for two years (though have been in "media" pretty much all of my life). Unfortunately, I'm not in England where wedding videos seem to go for a premium rate. I am in another province of the UK where wedding videos are priced at on average 600 - and everybody locally is undercutting everybody else, which I feel is the wrong way to go about attracting people to your business.

At the start, I undercut everyone too - just to get my foot in the door, but am now cranking up my prices as the quality of my work improves. Here's the sad thing, though - when I quote anything over 700 I never hear another word back from the enquirer. It seems *most* people I am encountering are just looking for the cheapest videographer as opposed to who they think is the best...

Now, would they do that with a photographer? Or even their cake? At weddings, I do some discrete detective work to find out how much the other vendors are getting paid - and low and behold some of the photographers are getting paid upwards of 1800, and the DJs are on 700 for 4 hours work.

The amount a videographer gets paid locally, is really disproportionate.

Now, two companies here are charging 1200 for a wedding video - and they seem to be busy enough. What are they doing right? The quality of my work is pretty much on a par with theirs.

Thoughts / opinions?
    Last edited by griffinmill; 01-06-2012 at 01:45 PM.

Another province of the UK? hmmm where exactly? All info helps