Thread: Need help figuring out freelance rates!!

Default Need help figuring out freelance rates!!

Hi All. Sorry if this is in the wrong forum! If you point me in the right direction I'll go there instead.

Anyway, I've sort of been head-hunted and offered some freelance filming and editing by a small but rapidly expanding commercial production company in the UK. The jobs are typically 3-5 minute videos for commercial companies. The production company have a lot of work on at the moment and want my help to clear the backlog of booked jobs. I've been asked to tell them my rates for freelance work but, being quite new to this whole video gig, I have no idea what to charge!

For now, I'd be freelancing and, if it proves that they need to use me a lot (which they expect to), they will consider employing me as full-time member of their staff. They want me to quote rates for production and editing using my own kit (about 13-15k of DSLR gear...I'm a still photographer at heart!).

So, what would people recommend as a good starting point? I'm planning on quoting full day rates as hourly rates or even half days don't seem like a great idea to me. I wasn't planning on offering different rates for production and editing as I'd rather be shooting than editing anyway but, if you guys think this is necessary, I might rethink this.

Any help on this would be really appreciated!

I'm not sure if they are look to you to give them the finished product or just a daily filming rate.

A bit of both.

In some cases, I'll be filming and subsequently editing my own footage so taking care of the whole process. In others I'll only be filming for somebody else to edit and in others still I'll be editing other people's footage.

Queen's Park NW6

Wow, new to video and already have a gig like this? I'm jealous

I would charge day rates (around 300) for filming as travel and lugging equipment around make a half day rate non viable.