Thread: First short film - film noir

1. Default First short film - film noir

Hey everyone

This is my first ever short film. I am a student studying over subjects to just film and media, so this is something I have done in my own time

I know there are mistakes in the short, but nothing that I cant learn from for next time. I would love to hear some constructive criticism for how I could improve for my next short film.

Quite good for what it was. Just a couple of things firstly you may find showing images of famous people may have a copyright on them. You would have to look into this. The knife in the back didn't look right. Good sound recording but it would have been better with some "live sounds", typewriter etc. The images where a little washed out but some good shots and ideas. The pace of the editing and story was a little slow to hold interest.

A very good job for your first film.

Blog Entries

I must say the voice-over was very good. The Gene Fowler text is very noir. Did you record it yourself?

Surrey, UK
    Blog Entries

Some nice images there. And as Rob Says a good V/O. But on with the constructive criticism ... much of this is personal preference so don't feel afraid to defend - I'm just questioning some choices.

I wasn't taken by the sepia colour - although it worked well with the blood at the end. I always think of noir as very black and very white. Certainly I'd have increased the contrast so there's lots of shadow and just the odd bit of highlight blown out. Another thing often associated with this style is the use of Dutch tilt - shots where the camera is tilted 20-30 degrees from the level. I think this could have been very effective here as the actual content of the shots is fairly minimal and you need to squeeze as much out of teh limited subject matter as possible.