Thread: Art V Technique music video

Question Art V Technique music video

A while ago I started a thread asking if an 'arty' film or music video can escape the necessity to be technically competent. Here is my attempt at 'getting away with it'.

I am self learning, my ultimate goal is to create a movie with soundtrack, akin to Pink Floyd The Wall. My potential film is sketch written and the score is ready. I'm a total beginner at film making, I have always created music. I currently have a very shoddy camera and shareware video editors. I will now buy the correct gear because I have progressed well, stuck at the task and enjoy it.

Previously I created a test music video which wasn't too difficult, now I have created a bridge between a music video and a film, in that the video contains drama and storyline that is attempting to grip the viewer more as a film does than a music video does. To compound this learning, I did it completely on my own in only a spare bedroom with no pre planning - I wrote the song, the film and the story in improvised fashion.

I would appreciate everyone and anyones critiques, however please be aware that I realise the technical film making aspects are pretty much totally absent here, (that learning will be done when I get the real gear), so it would be fairly meaningless to tell me that. What I want to know is if the timeline is drama enough to maintain interest, and if the story comes across. (There is an explaination of the concept below the video).

My future film will rely heavily on symbolism,and meaningful parallels involving micro/macrocosm etc (otherwise known as arty lol). This experiment is a dip into that realm. Thanks.

Stripé - It's Over - YouTube

I thought on the whole it was a reasonable effort. It was full interesting deep and meaningful imagery. Not quite enough beards to make it a real art piece but never mind.