Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: No video track in Vegas 8.0?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    5

    Unhappy No video track in Vegas 8.0?

    Whenever I try to put a clip into Vegas, it looks like this:


    See how it's not adding anything to the video track? The raw clip has video, but Vegas isn't showing it. Also, when I start Vegas, it doesn't even have a video track to begin with. I have to right click and Add Video Track. I don't understand this at all.
    I'm running Vegas 8.0 on Windows 7 32-Bit.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Warsop, Nottinghamshire.
    Posts
    4,465
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    What is the format of the video you're trying to import? (incidentally, when you drag a clip into the work space it adds a video and audio track automatically as long as the format is recognised)

  3. #3

    Default

    Quite often this is a codec issue. ie not having the right codec for the footage your trying to use. I would check that first use Gspot to see what the codec is (if you don't know) and see if it's loaded on your system.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Andy Lockwood View Post
    What is the format of the video you're trying to import? (incidentally, when you drag a clip into the work space it adds a video and audio track automatically as long as the format is recognised)
    It's an .AVI file from Fraps.

    Quote Originally Posted by Midnight Blue View Post
    Quite often this is a codec issue. ie not having the right codec for the footage your trying to use. I would check that first use Gspot to see what the codec is (if you don't know) and see if it's loaded on your system.

    GSpot is very confusing to me. How can I tell what codec I need?

  5. #5

    Default

    Once you have pointed Gspot at a video, in the top right hand corner of the Gspot screen it should say what the codec is and if it is installed on your computer.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Midnight Blue View Post
    Once you have pointed Gspot at a video, in the top right hand corner of the Gspot screen it should say what the codec is and if it is installed on your computer.
    It says the Codec is installed already :(

  7. Default

    I've always had problems with .avi files in Vegas, importing and rendering. I just convert it to .mp4

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    3

    Default

    It sometimes saddens me of how many things Vegas can do, yet making a .AVI work is too much. I had this same problem and ended up installing at least 10 different codecs. If I were you, I would just convert it to something else. This is the reason why I no longer use .AVI files in Vegas.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,846
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Please, please, please stop saying Vegas has problems with avi files. This is simply not the case. It may have problems dealing with some codecs which are stored within avi wrappers.

    Vegas is a non-linear ediding program designed to edit digital video. For years the standard means of capturing digital video was on DV or Mini DV. Vegas works fine out of the box for editing avi files using these codecs. Every time. No problem.
    I have never had a problem with an avi "file". There again I have never tried to edit avi files which use codecs which are not designed for editing.
    Tim

  10. #10

    Default

    You didn't say what the codec is. Also do you have the most up todate version is it, if it's some sort of Xvid or DivX these are not the best Vegas combinations but do work if you have the correct codec installed correctly. I wouldn't convert to .mp4 for editing it is a very compressed format. If you do have to convert try DV (big file) or if that's an issue mpeg2 or if you are using HD footage use HDV .m2t format, I find this a reasonable format for editing.

    I'm not a codec expert. I only know those things I've come across.

Similar Threads

  1. Sony vegas video track editor missing :/
    By juicykissesx in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-07-2010, 12:35 PM
  2. Vegas 6 Movie Studio Missing Video Track?
    By AshleyChristina in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-12-2008, 09:58 PM
  3. How do I move an audio track without moving a video track?
    By josie_bear2003 in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-20-2007, 05:32 AM
  4. I want to flip a video track horiztontally in Vegas
    By rvanner in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-26-2006, 01:11 AM
  5. Vegas will not play video track in .avi files
    By Andri Hugo in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-21-2006, 04:22 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •