Thread: Camera for skate videos

Default Camera for skate videos

Hi,

im new in this and i wanted to hear a proffessional opinion before i rush into buying myself a camcorder. I need the camera to make skate videos. I have read a bit and the 2 cameras i found are these two here from canon: Canon HV10 and Canon HV40. I dont have a lot of cash so if HV10 would do the trick wont be bad . But if it aint that good ill be patient to buy the more expensive one. If you guys could help with the choice and if there are any other suggestions ill be glad to hear them.The cash i have is arround 400$. Thanks in advance.

These are modest cameras, but I think the task isn't as simple as the question suggests.

I think you ned to assess this project and maybe provide more info, to get a helpful reply.

1),Is this indoors at a Skating Rink?
    2),What is the purpose of these vids...are they for Training, Fun, or What?
    3),Are you a skating professional, perhaps?

4),Do you have some senior position at an Ice-Rink, so you can take pictures when the rink is not busy?
    5),How close to the skaters do you need to view . . . . taking close-ups is significantly more difficult than say watching skaters drift-past.
    6),What is the available lighting, are you allowed to provide some near the camera - as this would help.

7),What experience do you have in photography, video, film Editing etc.
    ,How do you expect to view these pictures?
    9),What sort of Computer do you have (or access to?), as video put significant demands on a PC.
    It's possible to Edit on a dual-core PC with 4G RAM, running Win7.

10),What attracted you to these broadly similar models?

Sorry if that's a long list, pse refer to the numbers above if you wish.

To my mind this is the level of info you need to supply to give others (here) a "picture" of the situation . . . . .