Thread: Sound design equipment?

Default Sound design equipment?

Hi there

i am currently studying music tech at uni, and looking to move into sound design for either film/game at some point for a carrer, now due to being on a music tech course most of our work is based on the music side of things, untill the 3rd year where we can do a sound design module

Thing is i want to try start doing some home made projects to use in a portfolio, and was thinking of getting some of my won equipment
    at the moment i am looking to try get a database of sounds that i have recorded to then pic and chose at will to edit, use for any sound design work.

can anyone recomend any equipment to me please? in terms of mics/portable audio recorders/etc
    at the moment i am looking for cheap over quality (sadly i know i shouldn't) but budget is very low, being a student and all, budget is 300 max

thanks for any advice guys and girls

Blog Entries

You really need to keep scanning the likes of eBay and bblist - bargains can be had (avoid shoddy cheap stuff, you will regret it later when you have to buy 'proper' to replace it) - one good tip is to try looking for mis-spelt brands on ebays search - (sennhieser sennheiser for instance) - and be patient - occassioanlly bargains can be found - just don't rush, there's no need at all in your case as I'm sure at the moment you can use Uni's equipment?

Quote Originally Posted by Andy Lockwood View Post
    You really need to keep scanning the likes of eBay and bblist - bargains can be had (avoid shoddy cheap stuff, you will regret it later when you have to buy 'proper' to replace it) - one good tip is to try looking for mis-spelt brands on ebays search - (sennhieser sennheiser for instance) - and be patient - occassioanlly bargains can be found - just don't rush, there's no need at all in your case as I'm sure at the moment you can use Uni's equipment?