Thread: To all MacBook Pro/iMac users! (or to anyone familiar)

Default To all MacBook Pro/iMac users! (or to anyone familiar)

Hi guys im new to editing and im basically asking for a few hints and tips.

I am mainly going to be editing/creating Video Game montages/episodes/videos but hey im only asking the steps to take to produce an edit, now how to edit it.

I have the following programs:
    Final Cut Pro x
    Adobe After Effects CS5
    Cinema4D R13
    Boujou
    PhotoShop CS5

before i would do my editing in Sony Vegas Pro 10 but since ive moved onto mac im not aware of the steps i take to create a video because you cant do much in FCP on effects side.. and as im not too familiar with FCP im wodering if there is a program similar to Sony Vegas for the mac?

The steps i have been told to take though im not sure if are correct are:
    Render my clips out in 59.94
    Import them to After Effects for effects and Colour Corrections
    Import back into FCP to piece together the montage/video

However i am confused, because how would i go about Syncing my shots with the beat of a music track, i thought that was done by slowing, speeding up and pausing clips to make it fit with the music?

Any help is much appreciated, i know you guys are probably looking at my post count and thinking im a leecher but im not, im here to stay i just would love to get better at video editing, please someone help me

Wizz

hi mate,
    FCP is a pretty powerful tool, that does a fantastic job with color grading so importing it, exporting it to color grade then importing it after is a big waste of time. (in my opinion).
    You can edit it and color grade it all in FCP.
    If you are recording at 60fps then it is wise to work in 59.94fps (60fps), but if you are only recording in 30fps then i would recommend just rendering in that too.