Thread: A Little bit of Motion Blur

1. Default A Little bit of Motion Blur

Hi there,

I have just purchased a new 55' 3D Samsung HD TV and have just watched a movie I made of a trip to New York. THe movie was filmed on a Sony HDR 520V camera in HD.
    I then edited and rendered it, then burnt to Blu-ray.
    My question is I notice that during the movie I go a little motion blur. The picture is absolutely phenomenal and so crystal clear. I am quite new to editing, authoring etc so I was wondering
    if maybe I rendered incorrectly?
    Any advice would be appreciated.

Do you get the motion blur if you watch it on your computer monitor. If you shot at 25fps fast moving objects will look blurred there's not much you can do about that. If the rest of the image is ok then your rendering settings will probably be right. I don't know what software you edit with BUT in Sony Vegas you can select different types of motion blur flavours or take it off all together.

If what you describe as motion blur is actually something else, like interlace artefacts, then that's a different story. A sample of the footage might help, with more specifics about your footage and settings etc.

3. Default

Hi midnight blue,
    Sorry I should have given what I use.. I use a Sony HD XR520v camcorder and I edit with Sony Vegas Platinum Pro. My camcorder films at 60FPS but I have just clicked on the Properties on the movie file and it says It is 25FPS. What did I do wrong?

Last edited by Shane2801; 12-05-2011 at 03:31 AM.

Interlace artifacts are a comb effect on the edges of a moving object which is often caused by selecting the wrong field order when rendering. With HD footage you need to choose upper field first or you can de-interlace the video and select None (progressive).

5. Default