Thread: An introduction and some advice needed

1. Default An introduction and some advice needed

Hello I am a newbie to adding to this forum but I have been a lurking for a while! I am also new to videography and video editing - For the last year In my spare time I have been filming at Sporting events for friends and colleagues on my Panasonic HDC TM700 - Quite often people pay me for this and as I am quite proud of what I do and I want to provide a decent service I now want to take it to another level and to be able to edit and do some transitional effects and titles and music etc to the footage - as the Panasonic uses the Avchd format the quality of the footage is lost if I try and edit via Windows Moviemaker - - I am learning stuff about videography as I go along but most of it is trial and error so is there anyone who could kindly tell me the way forward - in fact any help would be appreciated as I dont want to waste my money on an editing suite that is not suitable - My PC is pretty geared up powerwise for editing as its Dell quad core i7 desktop - sadly I couldn afford a Mac !

Thankyou in advance !

Piaffe x

The next time you get paid for one of your jobs I would invest in a better piece of editing software as Windows Movie Maker is very limiting. Something Like Sony Vegas Platinum would be better for you.

3. Default

Hi and Thankyou - that is the sort of advice I am looking for - Is that the only software you would recommend or the most cost effective ?

P X

I suppose it's the best I know of in it's price range and I'm very familier with Vegas. There are other editing programs around you might want to look at but I think Vegas would be perfect for you at this stage.

5. Default

As long as it wont compromise image quality i will be happy !

P x