Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Almost completely new to this; help appreciated

Default Almost completely new to this; help appreciated

Basically I could do with a crash-course in simple video editing/composition. It doesn't need to be perfect, nor does it need to look completely professional.
    Essentially I am taking a Sign Language course, and part of it requires me to submit a video of myself signing. The teacher has suggested that signing a song would be a particularly good thing to include for good marks :-P
    While I am perfectly capable of editing a video as far as trimming, cutting pasting etc. just altering the stream (even so far as to correct a video that had [somehow] ended up with the video in the wrong order, but the audio just fine); I have no experience whatever in changing the content, adding subtitling, including another video within the overall video.
    What I'd like to do is to have a video of a choir singing a Christmas song, add in synchronised subtitles, and then myself in the corner signing along. If this isn't too much to ask?

Blog Entries

Hi Petrichor. Where abouts are you?
    It's not too much to ask. If you can film and record the stuff (you really don't want to be using an on-camera mic for the choir), someone could probably teach you how to do that with something like Sony Vegas Movie Studio in an afternoon. What software are you currently using?
    If you have access, your local camcorder club may well have someone who will spend some time with you getting you going - in return for a donation to the club.

I'm a little surprised that the examiner will let you edit this though. I've filmed a number of seessions of teachers for assessment and the examiners most definitely don't want the content edited.
    Tim

I'm in York.